A Little More about Me

Although I don’t necessarily intend this blog to contain a lot of personal information (unless it’s relevant to the blog topic), I figured it would be a nice touch to add the human element and include some more brief information about myself. I currently work as a lowly library page and attend graduate school to acquire my master’s degree in library and information science. I have a specialized interest in archiving and preservation, and I plan to work somewhere in those areas. I have done and continue to do proofreading and other editorial and design work, both freelance and elsewhere. The field of library science is very close to my heart, not just because I’m a bookworm, but also because the American Library Association (ALA) has the founding principles of intellectual freedom, freedom of access to information, and serving the public equally. I believe strongly in human equality on all levels and fight for marriage equality, somewhat considering myself as part of the LGBT category. I would consider myself to be very open-minded about LGBT and other identity-related issues. I try to find the good in everyone and keep positive thoughts on my mind. When I have a bad experience, I try to take something positive from it. I volunteer when I can, in various places, serving several roles. I believe in performing one’s civil responsibilities by voting, serving jury duty, and giving back to the community via volunteering. I respect people who are constantly proactive (especially in reading/seeking information), as I think that way, we can all eventually change the world for the better.

Little Tidbits
My favorite foods are ramen noodles and cheese pizza. I love tea and I can’t function without coffee. Regardless of my asexuality, I have chosen not to have childen and I instead see my pet tortoise as akin my son. Watching my Detroit Red Wings (hockey) is the closest thing I can think of as “sexy,” with the exception of intelligent men (which is known as sapioromanticism). My favorite TV show is undoubtedly Futurama although you may find me running off with Sheldon Cooper someday. In my spare time, I do a lot of reading (big surprise, I know), studying up on classic literature and random etymology (the study of the origin of words). If I had more spare time, I would love to go hiking more and try kayaking, white-water rafting, and several other adventurous outdoor activities (including skydiving). I do occasionally run 5Ks (3.1 miles). I also love to travel but I hate the cost of gas. I live to learn; my greatest enemy in this world is ignorance.

2 responses to “A Little More about Me

  1. Heya! So I’m not sure if you’re still active online or what the best way to contact you is, but if you are still interested in asexual arching/library sciences, there’s some discussions in the community recently about asexuality and archiving ethics that seem like you might have more expertise on – none of us are super familiar with standard library science or digital archiving practices. would love to hear your opinions if you have any!

    http://www.asexuality.org/en/topic/123340-announcement-to-content-creators/page-3#entry1061350067

    http://www.asexuality.org/en/topic/123400-want-to-start-an-asexuality-community-library/

    http://www.asexuality.org/en/topic/123364-the-aven-copyright-saga-recap-post/

    • Thank you very much for the links! I have been meaning to get back into the swing of things here! Almost done with school too (summer 2016)… 🙂 I will take a look at these when I get a chance!!!

Leave a Reply

